RSS

Back from Oz

02 Aug

I travelled to Australia with the boy in the middle of their winter. Wise move, as I missed out on the 30-degree swelter in Stockholm and I don’t do warm very well. We were in Sydney and Melbourne for two weeks and it was rather nice, thank you, despite the torture of sitting for 13 hours on a plane (preceded by 9 hours on a plane and followed by 3 hours on a plane). My CO2 footprint must be the size of Yellowstone Park.

I also was a couchsurfing guest for the first time, after having been a couchsurfing host for a few years. Me and the boy met a cat who played the harp, a man with a twirly moustache, and a kind lady who had a wombat in her back garden. Lovely people all.

The food was great, the weather mild (13 degrees in winter? Wimps) and the people had that nice relaxed vibe that you sure as hell do NOT get in Stockholm. It’s just a pity that Sydney was totally bike-unfriendly and not very well thought out. For example, I did not see a single stairs with a ramp for buggies and my friend spent his day lifting his 2-year-old’s buggy up and down stairs. And wheelchair accessible? Yeah, right…

Plus! I found Wunderkammer, the best shop ever. It is a classic Victorian cabinet of curiosities. I bought a Xenophora pallidula, a seahorse and some starfish. I would have also bought the gold frankincense and myrrh set but didn’t have the room in my suitcase. Maybe next time. But if you ever happen to be in Melbourne, just fucking GO there!

So that’s the whole “getting up to date” thing out of the way. The next post will be the standard bitching and moaning. I’ll see you then!

/ paddy (who is nice to be home)

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2010 in Life, Obscura

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Back from Oz

  1. OR Melling

    August 2, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Hey. welcome home! I’m just back too, from the wilds of Cavan and now a card-carrying Buddhist (took 20 years to make the move.) I’ll try not to preach too much! :)Love the new look of your blog. Designed yourself?

     
    • paddyK

      August 2, 2010 at 11:53 am

      Thanks! Buddhism sounds like the best one, if you ask me. The blog design was a birthday gift built entirely by hand by my special somebody (http://melliferax.wordpress.com/). I believe she’s available for freelance work! ;)

       
  2. OR Melling

    August 2, 2010 at 10:48 am

    PS Ok I’ll bite. What’s a xenophobic palindrome?

     
  3. anaglyph

    August 2, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Wunderkammer is my favourite Melbourne shop. This Christmas past I was given a Storm Glass from there.

    As for Sydney being bike-unfriendly – whaddya mean? They spent a LOT of money stencilling cyclist signs on the side of roads in that thin strip between moving cars and parked cars (where people open their doors on you without warning).

     
    • paddyK

      August 2, 2010 at 2:32 pm

      I saw the storm glasses! They looked very neat indeed.

       
  4. Earthpal

    August 10, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Welcome back. Glad you enjoyed your break. I wouldn’t be too concerned about your carbon footprint. It’s nothing compared to what most people do.

    I reckon we could all learn something from Buddhism – it’s definitely closer to my heart than all the other religious stuff.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

