RSS

A Book Done Day

08 Jun

Forgive me for a moment while I blow my own horn. (And there’s a skill all the boys wish we had, eh?)

About six years I started to gestate an idea for a young adult science fiction novel. The kernel of the idea was to have a character who accidentally gained magical powers and had to learn how to use them. Being SF the “magic” powers needed to have a technological basis to them.

From there it quickly blossomed into a space opera adventure story, with traders, pirates, strange races, intrigue, emperors, secrets, biological computers, reactionless propulsion, alien toilets, immortals, hyperspace intestines, and a massive kick-ass chase sequence that takes up fully a quarter of the book.

Needless to say, I am telling you this because draft 1 was completed an hour ago. (Actually it’s more like draft 3 as the first half of the book was re-done several times.) But fuck it, I’m calling it draft 1 because it has a nice fat ring to it.

I am very excited about this book, as 1) It’s got the best character names of anything I’ve ever written and 2) Every time I went back to it after a break I thought, wow, that’s pretty good.

Plus it’s a fucking space romp, and exactly the kind of thing I’d buy myself. Which is probably the best praise I could give it.

And that’s all I’m saying for now. The book shall sit for a little while before I return and polish it to a state where others can read it and start to comment. You want to, just ask.

I love it when a plan comes together.

/ paddy

 
15 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2011 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “A Book Done Day

  1. blitzken

    June 8, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    That absolutely rocks!

     
  2. anaglyph

    June 9, 2011 at 12:03 am

    Well done! Looking forward to the movie and the 5 sequels.

     
    • paddyK

      June 9, 2011 at 7:57 am

      Of course there’ll be 5 sequels, mostly because I like the word “sextology”.

       
  3. Bellis

    June 9, 2011 at 4:32 am

    Don’t know if you’d be interested, but I have worked professionally as an assistant editor for a science fiction-magazine and two lines of science fiction-novels for … hm, for how long was that now? Well, loads of years, anyway. I could take a look at the manuscript, should you want me to, and tell you what I think might need to be done, if anything (professionally speaking, I mean – to get it published, you know).

    Anyway, congratulations on having finished it!

    Drive a hard,
    Bellis

     
    • paddyK

      June 9, 2011 at 8:07 am

      Thanks for the offer, I’ll let you know when I’ve done the clean-up draft.

       
  4. ladyfi

    June 9, 2011 at 5:02 am

    Hurray! What an achievement!

     
    • paddyK

      June 9, 2011 at 8:08 am

      Thanks! Expect it in the shops in, oh, three years.

       
  5. Rolf

    June 9, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Romans roared “Jugula! Jugula!”
    We roar “Publish! Publish!”

    cheers!
    /Rolf

     
    • paddyK

      June 9, 2011 at 8:08 am

      I’m on it, I’m on it!

       
  6. charlotteotter

    June 9, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Yee-hah! Congrats, Paddy. I know the feeling and it is a good one.

     
    • paddyK

      June 13, 2011 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks! And good luck with yours too.

       
  7. Wynn

    June 10, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Congrats! I’m sure it’s awesome!

     
    • paddyK

      June 13, 2011 at 2:41 pm

      It’s about a seven.

       
  8. ÄnnuVärre

    July 5, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Looking forward to reading it! And to give it to my son with the words “I know the guy who wrote this!” Hurry up, willya!

     
    • paddyK

      July 12, 2011 at 1:59 pm

      Yes, yes! These things take time. And tea.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

