RSS

Great Things To Do In Stockholm When Not Naked

09 Jul

Saturday was one of those gold-dust days where everything went right. It might have helped that it was the first day of my official holidays. And that I have a decent income, no diseases, and live in a first-world country. That never hurts either. Anyway.

The day started off with me dragging my reluctant arse to Bodypump. That’s an hour of lifting weights to ridiculously over-the-top music and an instructor who says things like “feel the burn” and means it. There’s also the added bonus of all the nicely toned bodies (both male and female) to check out from my position in the back row. And the marvellous high afterwards from sitting in the sauna. I can recommend it.

That done I wandered by a local bike shop and had a slight but niggling problem fixed on my bike, right there and then, for very little money. Nice. Visit these nice lads here.

Then I wandered into town. Some guys handed me a flier and, for once, I read the thing. It turned out to be for a shop around the corner that sold vintage suits and shoes, on the entirely unpronounceable Östgötagatan. Aha, I thought. I went there and discovered the owner was (mostly) an Irish guy. We had a nice chat about the old country and such, and he showed me his very fine selection of vintage suits, shoes, ties and jackets. Go there, and buy some excellent vintage things. Do it now!

Then I wandered on down to my favourite barbers, Salong Andreas, for a haircut. There are three seats in this barber shop, and seat number two is the guy I always want. I rarely get him, as it’s drop-in only and it is entirely up to chance which guy you get. But today, I got the right guy. And a rather spiffy summer haircut. So, you gentlemen requiring a haircut – away with you to Salong Andreas tout suite!

That done, I went to one of favourite eateries, Cafe Blå. This is a small cosy place run and owned by the lady who always takes the orders. There’s no fucking TV and no bloody radio. Wonderful. The owner will make you up an excellent fresh sandwich on the spot. I also enjoy this place as the owner does tarot card readings for people right there in front of you.

And much as I dislike pretty much anything new-age, I do have a soft spot for tarot. Mainly because I’m a sucker for symbols and it does seem very much like therapy. Slightly half-assed therapy, but still, she’s a nice lady. That’s Café Blå, for a quick bite. Just off Medborgarplatsen. Go on, dance with the devil.

I rounded off the evening with a concert in a park given by my friend Jessica. If this lady gets the right kind of luck, she’ll go far. She’s a singing-songwriting power to be reckoned with. I also, by an amazing co-incidence, built her website. Check it out. Awesome, I’m sure you’ll agree.

And that’s it for day uno of my holidays. This is looking like a mighty fine summer indeed.

/ paddy

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 9, 2012 in Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Great Things To Do In Stockholm When Not Naked

  1. DrDan

    July 9, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Saw this last night and thought of you:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/fashion/gallery/2012/jul/08/gentlemen-compete-chap-olympiad-in-pictures

    surprisingly apropos given the above!

     
    • paddyK

      July 10, 2012 at 9:32 am

      Yeah I saw that too! Looks like a fun time. I’ll have to get the tweed suit sorted out and get there next year!

       
  2. Keith Duffy's son.

    July 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    Bender.

     
    • paddyK

      July 20, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Eloquent as ever.

       
  3. Rolf

    July 12, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Yikes! No gripes? No rants? And a new style to your blog? I can positively feel the faint raga music meandering its way up into my hind brain.

    Something must have happened. Is it only summer feelings, or something even more wicked? We must save you, for your own good!

    :-)

    cheers/Rolf

     
    • paddyK

      July 20, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      Rolf, old chap, every day isn’t a rant day. There’ll be one shortly.

       
  4. Penny Lane

    July 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

     
    • paddyK

      July 20, 2012 at 9:03 pm

      I’ll allow it, although it’s very barely relevant…

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

