RSS

Fifty Shades Of No

26 Jul

The jury is in. It’s a “no” on Black Heart’s Blood. 5 no-thanks out of 5. Depressing. You’d think writing a good book would be enough. But no. Then comes the pimping and fawning and waiting. Oh the bloody waiting…

But there was one good part. A nice silver lining (although I’d rather have the silver on the outside, and not in the bloody lining, but that’s just me). The final no, which came today, was actually very positive. As positive as a no can be in publishing. Most positive no ever. And here it is.

Dear WRITER

Thank you for letting me consider ‘YOUR BOOK’ and for your patience.

There are many fascinating ideas (and images) at the core of your novel and I quite like them.
However, I did not feel entirely convinced I could place ‘YOUR BOOK’ on your behalf in the current market conditions.

Please note that this is just my personal feeling, which should not discourage you in any way from submitting your book to as many agents as you can.

May I take this opportunity to wish you and your team the best of luck in your search for representation.

Regards,
THE AGENT

So, an agent is telling me to keep on sending the sucker out, and maybe I’ll get lucky. A professional admits that the book had promise. That’s actually quite huge. There will be fizzy spinny drinks tonight!

However … my team? What team? Do I have a team? How come nobody told me this? And I’ve been beavering away in private on the damn book for ages when I could have had a whole team on it!

You live and learn. And then you go lick some more envelopes.

/ paddy

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2012 in Life

 

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “Fifty Shades Of No

  1. charlotteotter

    July 26, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Rejection is bloody hard. Have been getting some myself lately. However, these little glimmers – which I comfort myself by calling rave rejections – do help.

     
    • paddyK

      July 27, 2012 at 8:01 am

      It totally made my year!

       
  2. Martin R

    July 26, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    In his fine book _On Writing_, Stephen King described the countless rejection slips he collected on a nail in the wall of this writing cubicle. Keep at it man!

     
    • paddyK

      July 27, 2012 at 8:01 am

      I’ve read that – it’s my favourite “how to write” book. Those damned adverbs!

       
  3. Rolf

    July 27, 2012 at 7:36 am

    Paddy, no offense intended I assure you, but this time I’m going to try my darnedest best to make you sorely mad, just by principle. Leadership principle.

    When I interview people for airport statistics I can take twenty nos in a row, and I still know that at the end of the day I will have bagged about 75 interviews. If you give up after only five rejections (note carefully the very legend “The final no”) it’s about time you realized you’re not an author, never were one, and never will become one either. Once you’ve taken a hundred nos, or even a thousand nos, then you have earned the right to expect a yes from the next submission.

    At least you could break out some part of the novel and rewrite that into a short story, and have that published in the Asimov’s, the Analog or the F&SF. Then you could use that as an enticing tidbit to make the publishers more interested.

    Go for it! Or I’ll never again believe you’re an Irishman!

    cheers/Rolf

     
    • paddyK

      July 27, 2012 at 8:02 am

      My God, good sir, do I mention giving up? No! This small grain of feedback will keep me sending it in for another 5 years. I know it’s good – now it’s just to find somebody in publishing who agrees with me!

       
      • Rolf

        July 27, 2012 at 8:23 am

        That’s very good! But do I believe you? Frankly, from your posting, I’m not so sure. Your entire posting reads like a failed Lovecraft story. Once upon the time you had a lovely authorship. But that was many years ago. Now even the slimy monsters have left. They haven’t got the stamina to try slithering any more…

        Ominous music playing: It’s over…

        > The jury is in. It’s a “no”[…]. 5 no-thanks out of 5. Depressing. […] But there was one good part. […] The final no […] was actually very positive.

        That sounds to me like you’ve decided to give up. You’re thinking in absolute finalities. Or did you write it to make me believe that you’ve given up?

        cheers/Rolf

         
  4. paddyK

    July 28, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Rolf: It doesn’t in any way mean I’ve given up. It’s means I’ve received replies from the first bunch of 5 agents. At the end of the article I say I will continue sending it out. Hence the envelope licking. Why on earth would I stop now?

     
    • paddyK

      October 9, 2012 at 11:54 am

      The trucking shall continue.

       
  5. shooting targets with guns

    May 11, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    It’s appropriate time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.

    I have read this post and if I may just I wish to recommend you some attention-grabbing issues or tips.
    Perhaps you can write subsequent articles relating to
    this article. I want to read even more issues approximately it!

     
  6. reactive pistol targets

    July 15, 2013 at 3:31 am

    I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours as of late, but I by no means found any interesting article like yours. It’s lovely
    value enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers
    made excellent content as you probably did, the internet will
    be much more helpful than ever before.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

