RSS

A Bouncing Baby Book

09 Jun

Breaking with my tradition of not blogging at all, I decided to mark this day with a blog post.

So. After three years of planning and thinking and a frantic four-month workathon, my new book is finally done. “Done” as in the first draft, which needs editing, polishing, poking and all that stuff. But still, I am sitting atop a pile of 117000 words, more or less in the right order, and they feel very comfy indeed.

I shall not reveal so much about this book, as the title and the idea are pretty unique. Suffice to say it’s an urban fantasy adventure kind of thing with some horror and it’s got a lot to do with dreams.

Some inspiration.

Some inspiration.

The last two weeks I have worked in a blaze and did fully one quarter of the book. That’s 27000 words in two weeks, which for me is a hell of a lot of words. I’ve been getting up early to write before work, going home every evening to write after work, and my son probably thinks I am now part of the kitchen table as whenever he comes home from school, there I am, slouched over, squinting on the screen.

When I put the last word on the page at 7.35 this morning, I stared at the screen, with no idea how to react. And then I started to cry. I’m not sure if it was from relief, or happiness, or exhaustion, but cry I did. Nothing has felt this close to having a baby than actually watching my son’s mother having an actual baby.

Now I’m ploughing right into the next book (not a sequel to this one) which, for once, I will plan meticulously before writing. I suspect this might be the best way for me to work as with a plan I’m free to just write and not look back. And the new-born book will be put in a drawer and allowed to ferment and steam for six to eight weeks like a Christmas pudding. Because that’s what you gotta do.

And finally, here’s some music I listened to a hell of a lot while writing this — a seven-hour long ambient piece called “Somnium”. So put it on, float away and watch this space. (Or, better yet, this twitter space where I tend to post more than once every three months.)

/ paddy

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2013 in Life

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “A Bouncing Baby Book

  1. Ron Pavellas

    June 9, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    Excellent to have finished the first round, Paddy. Grattis! Re: Somnium. Often I listen to Robert Rich while writing and otherwise working at the keyboard.

     
  2. V.L. Craven

    June 9, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    Congratulations, man! And in four months, no less. Nice work. When you’re ready to start promoting it–whenever that is–you know you have a reviewer right here. I’m interviewing authors now, as well, so I’ll ask all sorts of probing questions in a separate post. :) I’ll probe your most intimate regions… if you’re into that, of course. I’d never do something of that nature without consent.

     
    • paddyK

      June 9, 2013 at 8:20 pm

      Thanks! It didn’t take 4 months though, just the crazy final sprint which was about 60% of the book. I started it about 3 years ago. Expect a beta version to read in about 4 months.

       
      • V.L. Craven

        June 9, 2013 at 8:51 pm

        You know where I am.

         
  3. Martin Rundkvist

    June 10, 2013 at 11:38 am

    Yay! Congrats Paddy! Looking forward to reading the book.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

