RSS

Your Inner Geek

26 Jan

So I just watched that episode of Big Bang Theory about the One Ring. While it was fun, the description of the male characters’ behaviour as “geeky” came up several times. And it made me realise that this whole “I’m proud to be a geek” movement is really starting to annoy the tits off me. I’ll now tell you why.

A geek is basically a fan of things that aren’t cool. And who decides what is cool? Cool people do and always have done. By calling yourself a geek to somehow “reclaim” that word you are just adding to the idea that there are different kinds of interests – cool ones and geeky ones. And some are more important than others.

Image

When I was in school I got shoved around for liking “stupid” things like fantasy and science fiction. Whereas my thuggish peers who liked football had no such problems. They knew piles of stats, they collected sticker albums, they treated football like it mattered. They even dressed up as the players, cosplay if ever I saw it. For some reason that was all okay. But making a joke about Star Wars was grounds for a thumpin’. Which was odd, as discussing in massive depth some men kicking a sphere around a field was fine.

Football isn’t the only thing. There’s music. Sport. Cars. Soap operas. Movies. Classical Music. Wine. Very rarely if ever do you hear fans of these activities described as “geeks”. Most usually they are “fans” or sometimes “experts” or even “connoisseurs” even when the level of pointless trivia involved is mind-blowing.

ImageA geek is simply a person with a burning interest and unreasonable level of knowledge in some area. That makes you a “something” geek, whatever the thing in question is. You cannot be just “a geek” in the same way that you cannot be “a fan” without first saying what you are a fan of. By buying into this current usage, you are essentially saying – “yes I agree with you that my interest is of less worth than yours but I’m anyway still okay with that, if it’s alright with you and the cool people, sir.”

Well fuck that shit. All interests are just as valid, be they tattoos, curling or Pokemon. If you want to show “pride” then stand up for yourself instead and demand that all interests are taken just as seriously. They are, when it comes down to it, all equally disposable and useless.

From now on, I will call every geek a geek. Sports geeks, wine geeks, opera geeks. Geekery, all of it, and nobody should be offended by it. And if they are, well, tough. I think it’s also time to remove that desperately proud and apologetic “I’m a geek and proud of it!” from your various online profiles. It says precisely nothing. Because we’re all geeks, every one.

(Except for, you know, the poor and hungry. Although they might still like football.)

/ paddy

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2014 in Culture, Ranting

 

Tags: , , ,

10 responses to “Your Inner Geek

  1. Anonymous

    January 26, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    That’s a very cool blog. But I preferred your earlier stuff.

     
  2. Anonymous

    January 26, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    I preferred your old stuff. Before the masses discovered you and considered you cool.

     
  3. Anonymous

    January 26, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    OOOOps. The first post didn’t appear so I went again… not cool….. not cool…..

     
    • paddyK

      January 26, 2014 at 3:20 pm

      Take a deep breath, put the hammer down, and try again. Ready, 1, 2…

       
  4. Ron Pavellas

    January 26, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    Yo, Man, I’m at least as geeky as you. I’ve eight eight blogs! So there…

    Oh yeah, I don’t know dick about sport, but I do remember the Brooklyn Dodgers fondly, and the early years of the SF Giants (American baseball, ya’ know). Oh another yeah, when my present (and final) wife were not yet married to each other, we occasionally used the phrase “quantum mechanics” in our conversation.

    Yes, this is a CAN YOU TOP THIS challenge…

     
    • paddyK

      January 26, 2014 at 3:21 pm

      I like a man who can use the phrase “present and final wife” in a comment.

       
      • Rolf

        January 27, 2014 at 2:24 pm

        “I like a man who can use the phrase “present and final wife” in a comment.”

        Paddy dear, it’s even better. :-)

        What he said was “when my present (and final) wife were not yet married to each other”. So, at that time his present wife and his final wife were not yet married to each other. They are now. No wonder he talks about quantum mechanics… :-)

        Sorry, Ron. I fell for the temptation… :-)

        cheers/Rolf

         
  5. Ron Pavellas

    January 27, 2014 at 3:04 pm

    A keen observation, Rolf…

     
  6. blitzken

    January 27, 2014 at 4:19 pm

    I grew up knowing the geek as the guy in the circus who bites the heads off chickens. Not sure when it took a turn for the worse.

     
  7. Glen Gordon

    February 16, 2014 at 1:32 am

    I never thought of “football cosplay” before. Thanks for that. Lmao!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

