Happy Thoughts

Ah, spring is here. Or at least it appears to be. The sun is melting all the snow, the dog shit is steaming, we are wearing clothes that do not keep us warm. People are flocking to tattoo parlours, and getting their ears pierced, and deceiving thmeselves by purchasing exercise bicylces.

The thing with exercise bicylces is interesting. I have not been getting my normal quota of exercise over the winter, and have put on 3 or 4 kilos, which I would like to remove so that I can fit into my clothes again. I have been playing with the idea of getting an exercise bike, and have been looking on the internet. I have discovered that the average ad goes like this: “Blah blah exercise bike, new condition, never used, a real bargain.” Nobody, it seems, ever uses an exercise bike. They buy them and then give them other tasks, like holding up clothes, or as a spare chair when too many people come for dinner. And when the time comes to sell them, they are like those mint-condition Star Wars toys, still in the original box.

But back to happy thoughts – H is getting over his separation anxiety – we bought a new cat – I will get tax-money back – I upgraded my virus protection – I am still alive and have no fatal diseases. It would make my day perfect if only I could buy 1) Salt and vinegar chips and 2) Potato waffles in this God-forsaken country.

/ paddy

Leave a Reply

