Mac up your arse

I have given my opinion before on the whole “Mac vs. PC” divide so I won’t go back there now. I will, however, quote somebody else’s article on the same subject as if it were my own work. Go on, expel me, I dare you!

In the Guardian today, in an article called “I hate Macs”, Charlie Brooker tears Macintosh a new asshole, and does it well. The man has hit the nail on the head – Mac users use Macs because they want to be Mac users. They have no actual evidence for their claim that Mac is “better” or “safer” or “prettier” – no, they are just full of crap. To quote Mr. Brooker:

I hate Macs. I have always hated Macs. I hate people who use Macs. I even hate people who don’t use Macs but sometimes wish they did. Macs are glorified Fisher-Price activity centres for adults; computers for scaredy cats too nervous to learn how proper computers work; computers for people who earnestly believe in feng shui.

Oh yeah. I have worked with a lot of people during my 8 years in the IT biz, and all of the serious co-operation problems have come from Mac users. All of them. Either they deliver stuff in the wrong format, or with the wrong font, or leave their fucking little invisible Mac files all over the shop like pigeon droppings, or else they are just bloated egoists and far too good for the rest of us. More from Mr. Brooker:

Cue 10 years of nasal bleating from Mac-likers who profess to like Macs not because they are fashionable, but because “they are just better”. Mac owners often sneer that kind of defence back at you when you mock their silly, posturing contraptions, because in doing so, you have inadvertently put your finger on the dark fear haunting their feeble, quivering soul – that in some sense, they are a superficial semi-person assembled from packaging; an infinitely sad, second-rate replicant who doesn’t really know what they are doing here, but feels vaguely significant and creative each time they gaze at their sleek designer machine. And the more deftly constructed and wittily argued their defence, the more terrified and wounded they secretly are.”

And finally:

The only way to have fun with a Mac is to poke its insufferable owner in the eye.”

Does anybody have any actual evidence that Macs are “better” than PCs? If so, I would truly love to see it. And if not, then give it a fucking rest. Please.

/ paddy

Leave a Reply

