Analogue or digital TV

In 2004, during an after-work cocktail at the Vampire lounge in Stockholm, the Swedish government decided if would be a laugh if the country shut down the analogue TV net and went over completely to digital TV.

kill-tv.jpg

Figure 1: Tips for future viewing

There has been a whole lot of discussion about this in Sweden over the last couple of years, but for the life of me I can’t understand it. My TV signal comes through a cable, and I imagine that something will change in the way that signal is sent. The way I understand it, instead of photons they will now use gluons. And gluons, being sticky, fall out of the wire less often.

Just a few weeks ago, I got a big fat shiny leaflet that basically told me: “It is a really BIG CHANGE to move from analogue TV to digital TV! You are a cable subscriber and so you will not notice anything or have to do anything.” Wait a second…if I will not notice any change, then why are they telling me? If I need to do nothing, and it does not affect me at all, why do I need to know about it? Don’t they think I have enough to worry about, with global warming and the price of pine-nuts and everything?

The real reason for this changeover is, of course, economic. They can apparently squeeze more signals into a digital stream, and therefore more sports and shit movie channels, and I assume it will allow the TV companies to save costs and fire a few people here or there.

We will also need to buy more gadgets. If you now receive your TV signal through an antenna, in the old-school fashion, you will need a digital decoding box for each TV you have. And you will no longer be able to watch one channel while recording another, unless you have a separate digital box for the video. This seems like a HUGE pain in the arse, taking away one of the main reasons for having a video recorder, and the old people in this country (not to mention the 35-year-old physicists) are going to have a hell of a time understanding this.

Apparently the digital TV net paves the way for HDTV and other digital services. Hurrah, I say in an ironic manner, an even bigger choice of fatuous rubbish pouring from the little box and turning my brain to cheese! And I get the option to buy lots of more energy-sucking hardware while throwing out some other hardware that is now obsolete.

theda-bara.jpg

Figure 2: Theda Bara, possibly on a TV

To be honest, I couldn’t really care how my TV is delivered, as I neither pay for it nor would care very much it is disappeared completely. But this is another prime example of something being done for all the wrong reasons. Progress does not always move forward.

/ paddy

9 thoughts on “Analogue or digital TV

  1. Isn’t it far more likely that tv as we know it, digital or not, only has a few last gasps left in it anyway? Does anyone really think that as the internet gets faster and cheaper, that tv – limited content, no interactivity, buckets of annoying ads – has any hope of enduring another decade?

  2. Conor: I suspect there will always be a lot of people who like their “media” in the traditional formats. But you’re right – death to TV!

  3. Broadband – what’s that?
    my current average connection speed at home is 16kbps
    eircom have kindly offered to sell me a second phone line to increase this to a massive 32kbps, or alternatively, for the bargain price of about €2,000 per annum I can have two way satellite.
    So charge the paddles to 3,000 joules and stand back, I’m not quite ready for TV to pop it’s clogs just yet!

  4. Dan: Maybe you can just buy a second house, and tape the phone lines together, and there you have it! Or just ask me to download what you want to see on the Internet, and I will burn it on a CD and send it to you.

  5. PK, that’s just crazy talk – I’m just going to start believing in god, and have him download stuff directly into my mind

Leave a Reply

