Tit-monkey and other news

Ah, a nice peaceful day of sitting around in my underwear working on my thesis. It heals the soul, it sure does. And while studying (OK then…surfing) I located a few random bits of news which struck me as interesting. I hope they strike you too.

First we have this charming tale of a microscopic baby lemur who, when abandoned by his mother, took up residence on his new best friend, Skansen aquarium animal minder Veronica Lindberg. “He likes to keep around my hair or my breasts,” she explains. But, all smuttiness aside, he is one cute little monkey…

Then we have a Swedish hospital planning to ban the nifty plastic clogs called Crocs, since they build up so much static that they knock out electrical equipment. As the Guardian puts it: “Hospital spokesman Bjorn Lofqvist said staff wearing the clogs could turn into “a cloud of lighting” because of the static electricity.” Wow…a cloud of lightning…now THAT I would like to see…

And we have the very, very Swedish scandal where a guy decides to paint his front door – wait for it, wait for it – pink. Yeah, that was the whole scandal – he painted his door pink. And the neighbours are up in arms because in Sweden one simply does NOT paint a front door pink. Its-just-wrong. They are talking to politicians and sending in petitions, because if one man gets away with painting a door pink, then god knows what will be painted pink next. The King? The moon? Carola Häggkvist? Anyway, doors in Sweden should be brown or yellow or red. They just should, ok?

And finally, the ultimate accessory for the dog who has everything – a canine sex toy. I think the picture sums this up nicely, so you don’t need me to dream up a long and sordid explanation, do you? Naturally this was designed by a Frenchman, who could not bear the though of the little doggies not getting any. And it even has soft dog-erotic skin and a little hole into which a tiny pencil-like penis can be inserted. I kid you not. I just wonder what the lady doggies are supposed to do in order to satisfy their carnal urges.

Well I just can’t wait until they start selling them at IKEA. And before I forget – the 59th Skeptic’s Circle blog carnival is online over at Pooflingers Anonymous, featuring an article by me (and a few other people). Check it out, if that is what you desire.

/ paddy

2 thoughts on “Tit-monkey and other news

  1. Vår gamla katt Sixten brukade hämta sina egna sex toys, helst en myrslok, i Pojkens säng och släpa runt i lägenheten för att slutligen sätta på bland matskålarna. Han var kastrerad, Sixten alltså, inte myrsloken. Den var däremot av tyg.

    Ja du kan ju förstås gissa att jag var en av dom som redan på 70-talet bar hem affischen Dublin Georgian Doors. Ska stanna upp i Limerick någon gång när min väska inte blir stulen och kolla in dörrarna där.

  2. Annaa: I love those Dublin doors – as you guessed, I was thinking of it when I wrote this entry.

    Of course, the local people in the story are not really objecting to a funny-coloured door; they are objecting to an openly gay man painting his door pink. Fucking country people…

Leave a Reply

