Will and Adolf

It’s not often I find myself agreeing with Will Smith, but stranger things have been known to happen. Smith made the following recent comment about a certain Mr. Hitler:

“Hitler didn’t wake up going, ‘Let me do the most evil thing I can do today.’ … I think he woke up in the morning and using a twisted, backwards logic, he set out to do what he thought was ‘good.”

1224_smith_2.jpgAnd then the world explodes and Jewish groups plus swarms of easily agitated idiot Americans come up with stuff like this:

“It spits on the memory of every person murdered by the Nazis. His disgusting words stick a knife in the backs of every veteran who fought (and sometimes died) to save the world from the intentions of Adolf Hitler”

“Adolph Hitler was a vile, heinous, vicious killer responsible for one of the greatest acts of evil committed on this planet.”

And so on. Now, are these people all complete fucking morons or is it just a slow day for them? Smith did NOT defend Hitler, he just mentioned the pretty well accepted fact that people will generally rationalise their own behaviour as being for the “good”. Nobody is a “villain” in their own minds – to get through the day, everybody has to put themselves as the hero of their own story, however far from reality that story is.

adolf.jpgAnd anyway Hitler wasn’t a “killer” – he gave the orders but technically he didn’t actually kill anybody himself. It was the military apparatus and the mindset he created and encouraged that did the actual killing. And the dude was democratically elected, so we can probably legitimately blame all Germans who were of voting age in the 1930s for all the extreme nastiness that Hilter caused to pass. And if I’m wrong in this analysis, then please point out where before tearing my head off.

If Smith had chosen say, Scaramanga as an example of a villain then nobody would complain. Bad luck on him that he choose Hilter and got the twitchy idiots all a bit twitchier.

Let me summarise: Smith did NOT say that what Hitler did was good. Smith said that, in Hitler’s own mind, the man constructed a world-view that made his own behaviour appear reasonable. I don’t either condone what happened in Germany in the 30s and 40s any more than Smith does, but for fuck’s sake people, you can’t shoot down a basic fact about human psychology just because it happens to be applied to a certain very disturbed individual currently chosen as evil incarnate.

So, idiots of the world – why don’t you all read the fucking text next time and think about it for 10 seconds before flying of the handle?

And please send all letter bombs to the usual address. Thank you.

/ paddy

12 thoughts on “Will and Adolf

  1. I think they are basically all complete fucking morons. Och därför kan en sån som Bush vinna ett val. Och folk bli religiösa fundamentalister, eller komma på idén att bomba abortkliniker.
    Har du haft en bra jul? Jag hoppas det!
    (Ok, I’ve gotta add: I do truly love some americans, who are not the least dumb or frantically religious)

  2. This is the first I’ve heard of the controversy over Will Smith, but I can say America has been sliding into a kind of fascism for the past several years; all it would take to push us all the way in would be another terrorist attack or a major economic setback. Not all of us are unconscious, just the Democrats and the Republicans . This past October the NY Times published an editorial with the headline: We Are All Good Germans Now.

    God fortsättning!

  3. My country makes me so proud sometimes. Of course, THIS isn’t one of those times… And really, my country almost never makes me proud, when I think about it… So… uh… People in this country are idiots. I don’t know what else to say. Sorry, world.

  4. Karin: My jul was just fine – reading, bathing and drinking. How was yours? And some of my best friends are Americans, so I know there are lots of smart ones. It’s just that those ones rarely get their own TV shows.

    mikey: There are idiots everywhere, it’s not just an American thing. But the American idiots do tend to shout a bit louder. And a good continuation to you too.

    Alex: Well you did give us Tori Amos, Carl Sagan, Josh Whedon and Ursula LeGuin, so I will forgive you just this once.

  5. It’s been great so far, thanks!
    Yep, I just had to add that in case any of them happens to read your blog… :-) särskilt som bara just det var på engelska. Vilt hoppande här. Hah.

  6. I remember PJ O’rourke said something to the effect of ‘Will Smith’s popularity is a result of Americans needing a non-threatening black celebrity, and Denzel Washington was getting a bit too edgy.’ Guess they’ll have to replace him sooner than they thought!

    I agree entirely; however, Smith had to have known people would take his response the wrong way and run with it. Of course Hitler didn’t get up in the morning and think “Bwahhhhaaahahaa, what sort of villainy will I engage in today?” but we live in a country where John Kerry says something like we need to reduce terrorism down to the status of organized crime, where it’s not a big deal in our day to day lives even if we can’t eliminate it completely, and immediately pundits are in TV and the radio saying “John Kerry says terrorism is no big deal!”

    So are you Irish, Swedish, or????

  7. When I read the article about Will Smith’s comments I thought the same thing you did PaddyK.

    So thank You for saying it…

    Because in America when you look like me people tend to think you’re playing the ‘race’ card… or that you’re generally un-patriotic… I might be but I still think Fairness is a virtue… and that people should just chill out.

  8. parallelsidewalk: I’m Irish, although at this stage I am probably at least 25% Swedish.

    genesiawilliams: A funny thing: in Sweden calling somebody “un-swedish” is actually considered a compliment. Really. It’s a funny country.

  9. I used to live in Norway, and while Norwegians aren’t fierce nationalists, they made fun of Swedes a lot.

Leave a Reply

