A Slight Detour

girl-2Ha! I am back after a week in San Francisco at the Adobe Max geekfest, fully charged and popping with inspiration.

It was quite a pleasant shock going from 0-degree weather in Stockholm to the mid 20s in SF. But what a city. And what a conference!

Adobe fed us as if they were fattening up pigs, they put on excellent talks on all manner of nerdy topics, and they arranged the best party ever at the De Young science museum. It was like an entire evening spent on some very funky drugs indeed, with food drink and music that could not be believed.

So here I am, alive and well and back to blogging. And when I catch up on my sleep I might even tell you all about how I bought a Macintosh.

/ paddy

12 thoughts on “A Slight Detour

  1. You WHAT????!!! Tell me now… a Macintosh.. at last – you have come over to the light side!

    BTW – tell me more about the fascinating picture that goes with this post! Who or what is it?

  2. THEY GAVE YOU DRUGS.

    Drugs that turned you into a colossal asshole.

    I can’t believe you bought a Mac. If you turn into an iMoron I won’t be able to continue reading your blog.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the weather, though. My (English) husband adores the weather here (east coast of the U.S.).

  3. Everybody: Calm down now. After my PC bugging out for the 101th time, and after noticing that every single developer at the big geekfest had a macintosh, I decided that perhaps the things could be more stable.

    I still subscribe to the idea that many mac users are just posers, generally the ones in the design direction. But lets not confuse the machine with the users. Any anyway I bought it on my company so it didn’t cost anything.

    Plus I get to learn lots of new things and have an actual informed opinion on the mac/pc question. Happy now?

  4. Hm, If they fed you like pigs, maybe you liver is big enough for nice Christmas paté. Glad to have you back, sorry for convincing you to buy a Mac, but you have tried PC and the reason this time was that Mac doesn´t crash to the same extend. So you don´t have to defend your love for PC, you are fed up with crashing machines simply!

  5. paddyK: “I still subscribe to the idea that many mac users are just posers, generally the ones in the design direction. But lets not confuse the machine with the users.”

    Slippery slope, my friend. Slippery slope. Tsk tsk.

    paddyK: “Any anyway I bought it on my company so it didn’t cost anything.

    Oh well, in that case! Superb! Using the company gives you an extra bonus point.

  6. Glen Gordon: Yeah, its always fun changing ones ideological standpoint and then trying to back it up with crappy arguments. I also dislike the car society, but I want a driving license. Life is fraught with paradoxes.

  7. Hmmmmmm
    Cars – Tick
    Mac – Tick
    Meat – Tick
    Long haul flights – Tick

    Tut tut tut.
    Finding Christ next I suppose.!

  8. Oh yeah. I have him and will release him for 30 pieces of silver. On second thoughts I might keep him til after Crimbo. He’s a handy lad. You should see what he can do with a bucket of water. Pissed for weeks I tells ya.

  9. “Yeah, its always fun changing ones ideological standpoint and then trying to back it up with crappy arguments.”

    You don’t have to go that way. It is OK to say “after careful consideration I’ll have to admit that I was wrong about the whole Mac vs. PC question.” Nobody will think any less of you for that, in fact quite the opposite: being capable of changing ones ideological standpoint is a sure sign of greatness!

Leave a Reply

