Six Arbitrary Things About Me

So I got tagged, which is blog-speak for being encouraged to write a blog entry on a certain topic, or to answer specific questions.

Normally I ignore things like this, but this is an interesting one, so I’ll go with it, since it’s on my favourite topic: me.

But I will break the rules, as is my way, and not pass the tag on to other people. Go make your own traditions, people!

Anyway, here are the rules:

  1. Link to the person who tagged you.
  2. Post the rules on your blog.
  3. Write six random arbitrary things about yourself.
  4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
  5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave them a comment.
  6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.

expensive-cow

Six arbitrary things means, of course, six things that you lot will find interesting. Unless you are religious, in which case nothing is arbitrary. Or unless you are an atheist, like me, in which case everything is.

But yeah, the six things…

1) I have, on several occasions, had my arm inside a cow, right up to the elbow. It wasn’t as bad as it sounds. Or maybe it was.

2) I can turn off my blinking reflex and have never been beaten in a staring contest

3) I lost my virginity at an embarrassingly late age. Possibly not late for a Catholic-raised Irish boy, but late enough to make an anecdote out of it.

4) I learned to swim 2 years ago. I still can’t swim terribly well, but if I fall off a boat into fairly warm water, with few clothes on, and no shoes, I might just make it.

5) I am a cappuccino snob. I will not stand for a bad cappuccino and I cast a sharp stare at anybody who dares to pass one off on me. The best cappuccino in Stockholm, by the way, is still to be found here.

6) I always eat all of my sweets before the movie starts.

So then, that’s me. I hope we all learned something. The tag stops here.

/ paddy

13 thoughts on “Six Arbitrary Things About Me

  1. “Six arbitrary things”

    – By the way, what’s the difference between random and arbitrary? It strikes me somehow like one birthday cake on top of the other.

    “But yeah, the six things…
    1) I have, on several occasions, had my arm inside a cow, right up to the elbow. It wasn’t as bad as it sounds. Or maybe it was.”

    – Why you veterinary, you! :-)

    “2) I can turn off my blinking reflex and have never been beaten in a staring contest”

    – But can you avoid falling in laughter? By the way, we’ll se who beats who when you end up in the home for the elderly at the ripe old age of ninetyfive, and the geriatrician tells you “retina falloff, thats what you get for staring so much.” :-)

    “3) I lost my virginity at an embarrassingly late age. Possibly not late for a Catholic-raised Irish boy, but late enough to make an anecdote out of it.”

    – Hmm… At an embarrassingly late age. Must have been a woman then. :-)

    “4) I learned to swim 2 years ago. I still can’t swim terribly well, but if I fall off a boat into fairly warm water, with few clothes on, and no shoes, I might just make it.”

    – Don’t remind me of that mediterranean cruise I didn’t take last year… :-)

    “5) I am a cappuccino snob. I will not stand for a bad cappuccino and I cast a sharp stare at anybody who dares to pass one off on me.”

    – Perhaps we should send you up to the northern parts of the Sweden of my childhood, where everybody drank cooked coffee, not percolated. And cooking it again with new water, unto the fifth and sixth dregs. We norlanders didn’t get hurt none from that practice – just look at me! I’m perfectly normal – as long as nobody says mattress. :-)

    “6) I always eat all of my sweets before the movie starts.”

    – It’s not the sweets, it’s the popcorn. I don’t mind if you eat your sweets during the movie, as long as you finish up your popcorn before. Then again, why do you eat all of them before the movie starts? (For the sake of the record, I’ve only heard of giallo, I’ve never ever viewed one.) :-)

    – As for myself, the first random arbitrary thing i should write about myself is probably that now, as I’m turning fifty, I’m slowly beginning to realise that I desperately need nice smileys after every paragraph I post. I’m beginning to wonder… :-)

    regards/Rolf

  2. Awesome!

    Re 3, what qualifies as “late”, anyway, and why would you be embarrassed? You can just claim to be the sensitive kind who never felt like taking advantage of someone for the sole benefit of no longer being a virgin.

    Now I have a craving for cappuccino. How annoying.

  3. Rolf: Emoticons and old age, the perfect combination! And yes, it was a woman, and not a priest.

    Charlotte: Bring it on!

    Felicia: No, I just wasn’t pushy enough. Plus I wore terrible shirts.

    Aphra: All parties involved were satisfied.

  4. Hey, I just tried that not-blinking thing. I think I can turn off the reflex too! However, the eyes almost hurt the first couple of times blinking again afterwards as they are so dry. So I don’t think I’ll practice that regularly. Do you do it often?
    Great to learn new things still. Thanx.

Leave a Reply

