Under the Weather

Today I’m sick. Hurrah! Its not that I get sick very often and since the kid stopped being ill so much it’s very rare to get a day at home.

stelizabethBut today I mentioned in work that I had a headache and felt rather rubbish, after which everybody took a step backwards and recommended that I go away rather quickly. Swedes are very scared of illness, you see. Responsibility and illness – the double scourges of Swedish life.

So I am currently camped on the sofa, from which I move occasionally with a groan and then settle back in to read and watch more TV.

I also took this opportunity to continue searching frantically for a new apartment. I was all ready to buy one, but then the stupid stinking Riksbank dropped the interest rates, and then the apartment prices went up, and now all the idiots are out there buying like there’s no tomorrow and pricing me out of the market once again. The dicks.

Anyway, I expect to be at home tomorrow too, when I shall sleep in and groan some more. And if anybody wants to play Lexulous on Facebook with a sick man, then by all means let me know.

/ paddy

8 thoughts on “Under the Weather

  1. “… the stupid stinking Riksbank dropped the interest rates, and then the apartment prices went up, and now all the idiots are out there buying like there’s no tomorrow and pricing me out of the market once again.”

    Yup. What with crashing ecosystems, depleting natural resources, and bursting bubbles all around, the Swedes have become so rattled and fatalistic they can’t even be bothered to plan their economy six months ahead. It’s the only explanation. If only there were more sanguine souls like you and me, we’d be out of our respective ghettos in no time.

  2. A game on FACEBOOK – I’m in on it. Any time and you know it.
    Though it seems you’re getting well already?
    I’m so glad you’re staying home with your illness at least. I HATE all these calvinistic Scandinavians who go to work and bring their sick-germs for everybody to be contaged with. Just so they can play sick-marthyrs. And they LOVE it.
    Therefore at all times of the year, I always wash hands frequently, use toilet-paper to filter between me and the handle of toilet door knobs, cranes and try not to breathe – too much.
    Just in case neither of the above work, I get a flu-shot as well.

  3. The Swedes are very wise. Here in Vancouver virtually nobody gets sick pay, so everyone is walking wounded from October through till May. I’m on my second flu in three weeks right now, with bonus pleurisy.

    Does that nutmeg and the blood of virgins thing work against plague? Oh, who am I kidding, where would I find a virgin in Vancouver?

Leave a Reply

